← Peach State Pulse — Georgia local government dashboards
Unofficial demonstration dashboard

City of Statesboro Pulse

The City of Statesboro, Georgia (seat of Bulloch County) — its FY2027 Adopted budget and its FY2024 audited financial results, taken line-by-line from the city's own published budget book and Annual Comprehensive Financial Report. Every breakdown on this page was re-added and sums exactly to its printed total.

Two different fiscal years — never combined. Budget figures are FY2027 Adopted (Annual Budget, Fiscal Year Ending June 30, 2027). Audited figures are FY2024 (ACFR for the year ended June 30, 2024). They are different years and are never combined into a single total.
Adopted-status note. The FY2027 budget book's title page does not say "Adopted." Its summary tables label the FY2027 columns "Adopted" (compared against the "FY 2026 Adopted" budget), while its detail pages and narrative call FY2027 the "Budget" / "proposed" budget. Figures here are the book's summary-table "Adopted" columns, labeled FY2027 Adopted exactly as the book labels them. No separate adoption ordinance or adoption date is printed in the book.
$32,671,785
General Fund budget
FY2027 · Adopted
Includes $205,210 of fund balance appropriated.
$103,800,810
Total budget — all funds, total use of resources
FY2027 · Adopted
$108,775,872
Total financial sources — all funds
FY2027 · Adopted
Sources exceed uses by $4,975,062 — the book's net increase in fund balance / retained earnings.
$65,111,130
Governmental funds budget (total use)
FY2027 · Adopted
$38,689,680
Proprietary funds budget (total use)
FY2027 · Adopted
35,366
Population
July 2025 · via census, as printed in the FY2027 budget book
$167,941,925
Total net position
FY2024 · Audited (June 30, 2024)
$53,732,540
Governmental funds fund balance
FY2024 · Audited (June 30, 2024)
$6,669,404
General Fund unassigned fund balance
FY2024 · Audited (June 30, 2024)
$26,464,552
Total outstanding obligations
FY2024 · Audited (June 30, 2024)
The ACFR's "Outstanding Debt" table — it includes OPEB, compensated absences, subscriptions payable and landfill obligations, so it is broader than bonded debt. See the debt section.

The two all-funds totals are printed as the book labels them and are not added together: total financial sources of $108,775,872 (FY2027 Adopted) against total use of resources of $103,800,810 (FY2027 Adopted).

FY2027 Adopted budget — all funds

The whole city budget as the FY2027 book's Summary of All Funds presents it: where the money comes from, where it goes, and the split between governmental and proprietary (utility and internal-service) funds.

All Funds total financial sources by source — FY2027 Adopted

$108.8M total sources · FY2027
  • Charges for Services $43,722,840 40.2%
  • Taxes $26,224,940 24.1%
  • Other Financing Sources $18,297,217 16.8%
  • Intergovernmental Revenues $14,686,040 13.5%
  • Licenses, fines, contributions & miscellaneous $3,479,500 3.2%
  • Interest Revenue $2,365,335 2.2%

Shares computed from the verified table figures below. The "other revenues" slice combines Licenses and Permits ($1,633,500), Fines and Forfeitures ($456,000), Contributions and Donations ($20,000) and Miscellaneous Revenue ($1,370,000), each shown separately in the table.

Table A1 — All Funds revenues by source, FY2027 Adopted
Taxes$26,224,940
Licenses and Permits$1,633,500
Intergovernmental Revenues$14,686,040
Charges for Services$43,722,840
Fines and Forfeitures$456,000
Interest Revenue$2,365,335
Contributions and Donations$20,000
Miscellaneous Revenue$1,370,000
Subtotal — Revenues$90,478,655
Other Financing Sources$18,297,217
TOTAL — Total Financial Sources$108,775,872
Table A2 — All Funds expenditures / expenses by use, FY2027 Adopted
Personal Services / Benefits$31,773,745
Purchase / Contract Services$9,424,190
Supplies$8,250,705
Capital Outlay$19,095,815
Interfund / Dept. Charges$12,352,790
Other Costs$7,412,060
Subtotal$88,309,305
Debt Services$1,147,255
Other Financing Uses$14,344,250
TOTAL — Total Use of Resources$103,800,810

Net: sources − uses = +$4,975,062 — the book's "Net Increase (Decrease) in Fund Balance or Retained Earnings," FY2027 Adopted.

Table A3 — All Funds split: Governmental vs. Proprietary, FY2027 Adopted
Governmental FundsProprietary FundsTotal
Total Financial Sources$60,091,055$48,684,817$108,775,872
Total Use of Resources$65,111,130$38,689,680$103,800,810
Net increase (decrease)−$5,020,075+$9,995,137+$4,975,062

Sources vs. uses, as printed: All Funds sources of $108,775,872 exceed uses of $103,800,810 (net +$4,975,062), while Governmental Funds run the other way — sources $60,091,055 vs. uses $65,111,130 (net −$5,020,075). The nets are presented as printed; the book does not describe these totals as "balanced" or "in deficit," and neither does this page.

Governmental Funds as defined in the book: General Fund, Confiscated Asset Fund, Opioid Settlement Fund, Community Development Housing Grant Fund, US Department of Justice Grant Fund, ARPA Fund, Multiple Grant Fund, Statesboro Fire Service Fund, South Main Tax Allocation District Fund, Old Register Tax Allocation District Fund, Hotel/Motel Tax Fund, Technology Fee Fund, 2013 SPLOST Fund, 2018 TSPLOST Fund, 2019 SPLOST Fund, 2023 TSPLOST Fund, 2025 SPLOST Fund, and Capital Improvements Fund.

Proprietary Funds as defined in the book: Water and Sewer Fund, Stormwater Fund, Natural Gas Fund, Solid Waste Collection Fund, Solid Waste Disposal Fund, Health Insurance Fund, Fleet Management Fund, Wellness Program Fund, and Central Services Fund.

Source: Annual Budget, Fiscal Year Ending June 30, 2027 — City of Statesboro, Georgia (FY2027; summary tables label FY2027 columns "Adopted"), Summary of All Funds. Read the budget book (PDF)

The General Fund — FY2027 Adopted

The city's main operating fund: $32,671,785 in total funding for FY2027 Adopted, exactly equal to total use. That total includes $205,210 of fund balance appropriated — the book's "Total Financial Sources" for the General Fund is $32,466,575, and total funding including the appropriation is $32,671,785.

Year-over-year, from the book's tables: FY2027 Adopted General Fund total use of $32,671,785 is +$5,128,960 (+18.62%) over FY2026 Budgeted total use of $27,542,825, per the book's General Fund Budget Summary table. FY2025 Actual total use was $26,988,160. Disclosure: the book's narrative instead describes a different increase measured from a $27,172,225 figure that does not appear in the book's summary tables — this dashboard uses the table figures and discloses the conflict (see Sources & disclosures, note C3).
Table B — General Fund revenues and other financing sources, FY2027 Adopted
Taxes$23,157,050
Licenses and Permits$1,623,500
Intergovernmental Revenue$30,000
Charges for Services$2,692,580
Fines and Forfeitures$447,500
Interest Revenue (Investment Income)$900,000
Contributions and Donations$20,000
Miscellaneous Revenue$25,945
Subtotal — Revenues$28,896,575
Other Financing Sources (transfers in + sale of assets)$3,570,000
Total Financial Sources$32,466,575
Fund Balance Appropriated$205,210
TOTAL FUNDING (= Total Use)$32,671,785
Table B1 — General Fund tax detail, FY2027 Adopted (FY2027 Budget column, General Fund detail)
Property Taxes — Current Year$14,632,550
Insurance Premium Taxes$4,000,000
Franchise Taxes — Georgia Power$2,370,000
Franchise Taxes — EMC$80,000
Franchise Taxes — Vyve$55,000
Franchise Taxes — Frontier$30,000
Franchise Taxes — Bulloch Rural$11,500
Franchise Taxes — Hargray$2,000
Title Ad Valorem$740,000
Beer and Wine$530,000
Liquor — Retail$330,000
Liquor — Wholesale$160,000
Real Estate Transfer$135,000
Motor Vehicle$40,000
Penalties & Interest on Delinquent Taxes$36,500
Mobile Home$6,000
Railroad Equipment$3,500
Refund of Taxes−$5,000
Total Taxes$23,157,050

Sub-totals as printed: General Property Taxes $18,100,550 + Select Sales & Use Taxes $1,020,000 + Business Taxes $4,000,000 + Penalties & Interest $36,500 = $23,157,050.

Table C — General Fund expenditures by department / division, FY2027 Adopted
Governing Body$316,215
City Manager's Office$867,685
City Clerk's Office$409,630
Financial Administration$1,295,600
Legal$249,375
Human Resources$585,515
Public Information$203,420
Engineering$488,305
Customer Service$601,225
Municipal Court$596,395
Police Administration$1,966,075
Police Operations Bureau$3,842,265
Police Patrol$7,188,365
Public Works Administration$589,980
Streets$3,149,985
Parks$767,280
Planning — Protective Inspections$232,505
Planning$654,985
Planning — Code Compliance$195,820
Statesboro Village Builders$134,960
Other Agencies$575,210
Subtotal — operating departments$24,910,795
Debt Service$245,440
Transfers Out$7,515,550
TOTAL — General Fund$32,671,785

Police is the largest service: Police Patrol $7,188,365 + Police Operations Bureau $3,842,265 + Police Administration $1,966,075 = $12,996,705 of the $32,671,785 General Fund total (FY2027 Adopted; sum computed from the table above).

Table D — General Fund expenditures by use, FY2027 Adopted

Shares of the $24,910,795 operating subtotal, computed from the table below.

Personal Services / Benefits$16,461,030
Purchase / Contract Services$3,979,875
Supplies$1,743,530
Capital Outlay (Minor)$48,650
Interfund / Dept. Charges$2,246,860
Other Costs$430,850
Subtotal$24,910,795
Debt Services$245,440
Other Financing Uses$7,515,550
TOTAL$32,671,785

Property tax & millage — as printed in the FY2027 budget book

  • Current rate stated in the book: $8.625 per $1,000 of taxed value (taxed value = 40% of assessed value).
  • FY2027 millage of 10.75 mills as printed in the budget book (chart: 10.754; the book's property-tax page calls the FY2027 rate "proposed" — see the Adopted-status note). The FY2027 rate is not stated here as finally levied.
  • Worked example as printed: $225,000 market value → $90,000 taxable value → tax bill of $776.25 at 8.625 mills (FY2026) / $967.50 at 10.75 mills (FY2027).
  • Projected collection rate for current-year taxes: 99.0% (as printed).

Source: Annual Budget, Fiscal Year Ending June 30, 2027 — City of Statesboro, Georgia (FY2027; summary tables label FY2027 columns "Adopted"), Summary of Governmental Funds, General Fund detail and Property Taxes page. Read the budget book (PDF)

Governmental & proprietary funds detail — FY2027 Adopted

The two halves of the all-funds budget, each broken down by source and by use. Governmental Funds' total use ($65,111,130) exceeds their total sources ($60,091,055) by $5,020,075 — the net figure is printed as the book prints it, without an added explanation.

Table E — Governmental Funds revenues by source, FY2027 Adopted
Taxes$26,224,940
Licenses and Permits$1,628,500
Intergovernmental Revenues$14,482,040
Charges for Services$3,118,580
Fines and Forfeitures$456,000
Interest Revenue$2,254,500
Contributions and Donations$20,000
Miscellaneous Revenue$25,945
Subtotal$48,210,505
Other Financing Sources$11,880,550
TOTAL — Total Financial Sources$60,091,055
Table F — Governmental Funds expenditures by use, FY2027 Adopted
Personal Services / Benefits$22,913,035
Purchase / Contract Services$5,196,640
Supplies$2,045,205
Capital Outlay$18,875,065
Interfund / Dept. Charges$3,135,885
Other Costs$2,025,035
Subtotal$54,190,865
Debt Services$1,041,015
Other Financing Uses$9,879,250
TOTAL — Total Use of Resources$65,111,130
Table G — Proprietary Funds revenues by source, FY2027 Adopted
Licenses and Permits$5,000
Intergovernmental Revenues$204,000
Charges for Services$40,604,260
Interest Revenue$110,835
Miscellaneous Revenue$1,344,055
Subtotal$42,268,150
Other Financing Sources$6,416,667
TOTAL — Total Financial Sources$48,684,817

Taxes, Fines and Forfeitures, and Contributions and Donations are $0 / "–" in the book for Proprietary Funds and are omitted.

Table H — Proprietary Funds expenditures / expenses by use, FY2027 Adopted
Personal Services / Benefits$8,860,710
Purchase / Contract Services$4,227,550
Supplies$6,205,500
Capital Outlay (Minor)$220,750
Interfund / Dept. Charges$9,216,905
Other Costs$5,387,025
Subtotal$34,118,440
Debt Services$106,240
Other Financing Uses$4,465,000
TOTAL — Total Use of Resources$38,689,680

The book budgets Depreciation & Amortization at $0 for FY2027 in both the Governmental and Proprietary summaries (it appears in actuals only), so no depreciation row is shown.

Source: Annual Budget, Fiscal Year Ending June 30, 2027 — City of Statesboro, Georgia (FY2027; summary tables label FY2027 columns "Adopted"), Summary of Governmental Funds and Summary of Proprietary Funds. Read the budget book (PDF)

FY2024 audited actuals — ACFR

What the independent audit found for the year ended June 30, 2024: the city's government-wide net position, how it changed during the year, and the governmental funds' revenues and expenditures. Audited figures only — a different fiscal year from the FY2027 budget above.

Table I — Government-wide net position, June 30, 2024 (Audited)
ComponentGovernmental ActivitiesBusiness-type ActivitiesTotal
Net investment in capital assets$43,783,333$60,728,728$104,512,061
Restricted$46,503,353$0$46,503,353
Unrestricted−$1,642,282$18,568,793$16,926,511
Total net position$88,644,404$79,297,521$167,941,925

Governmental unrestricted net position is negative (−$1,642,282) as printed; total unrestricted net position is positive (+$16,926,511) because of business-type activities. Prior year (FY2023) total net position was $148,768,092; the FY2024 increase was +$19,173,833 (+12.9%), as printed in the ACFR's MD&A Financial Highlights.

Table J — Changes in net position, FY2024 (Audited): revenues
RevenueGovernmentalBusiness-typeTotal
Charges for services$5,078,043$27,180,137$32,258,180
Operating grants$2,212,373$0$2,212,373
Capital grants and contributions$23,420,114$1,576,554$24,996,668
Taxes$16,452,505$0$16,452,505
Other$2,650,435$342,895$2,993,330
Total revenues$49,813,470$29,099,586$78,913,056
Table J (continued) — Changes in net position, FY2024 (Audited): expenses
Governmental activities
General government$3,061,768
Municipal court$536,039
Public safety$20,527,843
Public works$5,488,887
Community development$2,481,607
Parks and cemeteries$964,803
Engineering$516,687
Planning and zoning$704,524
Community services$641,108
Interest$371,981
Governmental subtotal$35,295,247
Business-type activities
Water and sewer$11,158,896
Stormwater$1,025,955
Gas$3,686,623
Solid waste collection$4,273,301
Solid waste disposal$4,299,201
Business-type subtotal$24,443,976
Total expenses$59,739,223

Change in net position, FY2024 (Audited): Governmental +$16,054,320 (after +$1,536,097 transfers in) · Business-type +$3,119,513 (after −$1,536,097 transfers out) · Total +$19,173,833. Beginning net position $148,768,092 → ending $167,941,925.

Table K — Governmental Funds revenues, FY2024 (Audited)
Property taxes$9,012,127
Insurance premium taxes$2,965,398
Franchise taxes$2,060,276
Other taxes$981,538
Hotel/motel taxes$1,442,052
Intergovernmental$23,577,957
Licenses and permits$1,365,416
Fines and forfeitures$648,376
Charges for services$3,064,251
Investment earnings$4,468,663
Miscellaneous$102,983
Total Revenues$49,689,037
Table L — Governmental Funds expenditures, FY2024 (Audited)
General government$2,562,832
Municipal court$477,345
Public safety$17,645,220
Public works$2,935,066
Community development$2,516,289
Parks and cemeteries$633,524
Engineering$442,885
Planning and zoning$603,937
Community services$518,653
Capital outlay$10,275,643
Debt service — Principal retirement$679,223
Debt service — Interest and fiscal charges$371,981
Total Expenditures$39,662,598

Excess of revenues over expenditures: $10,026,439; net other financing sources $845,474; net change in fund balances +$10,871,913; beginning fund balance $42,860,627 → ending $53,732,540.

Table N — General Fund, FY2024 (Audited), fund statement

Revenues — Total $18,531,387
Property taxes$8,321,365
Insurance premium taxes$2,965,398
Franchise taxes$2,060,276
Other taxes$981,538
Intergovernmental$30,693
Licenses and permits$1,365,416
Fines and forfeitures$544,406
Charges for services$479,927
Investment earnings$1,732,108
Miscellaneous$50,260
Total Revenues$18,531,387
Expenditures — Total $18,562,342
General government$2,562,832
Municipal court$477,345
Public safety$10,250,065
Public works$2,931,448
Community development$317,001
Parks and cemeteries$578,144
Engineering$442,885
Planning and zoning$603,937
Community services$255,107
Debt service — Principal retirement$145,723
Debt service — Interest and fiscal charges−$2,145
Total Expenditures$18,562,342

The −$2,145 interest figure is reproduced exactly as printed in the FY2024 fund statement — a negative expenditure, as printed (see disclosure C6). The governmental total interest of $371,981 (Tables J and L) is unaffected, and this table still sums exactly.

Net: revenues − expenditures = −$30,955; net other financing sources +$594,826 (transfers in $3,292,177; transfers out −$2,835,283; insurance recoveries $60,022; sale of capital assets $77,910); net change in fund balance +$563,871; beginning $6,932,845 → ending $7,496,716. Budgetary context as printed in the MD&A: General Fund expenditures were $550,977 less than the final budgeted amount, and fund balance was budgeted to decrease by $308,578 but instead increased by $563,871.

Source: Annual Comprehensive Financial Report, Fiscal Year Ended June 30, 2024 — City of Statesboro, Georgia (FY2024, Audited) — Statement of Net Position; MD&A Summary of Changes in Net Position; Statement of Revenues, Expenditures and Changes in Fund Balances — Governmental Funds and General Fund. Read the ACFR (PDF)

Fund balance & obligations — FY2024 audited

What the governmental funds held at June 30, 2024, and everything the ACFR's "Outstanding Debt" table counts as an obligation — which is more than bonds.

Table M — Fund balances, governmental funds total, June 30, 2024 (Audited)
Nonspendable$184,716
Unassigned$6,313,716
Restricted — Special revenue funds$3,127,228
Restricted — Capital projects funds$43,376,125
Assigned$730,755
Total Fund Balances — Governmental Funds$53,732,540
Table M (continued) — Fund balance, General Fund, June 30, 2024 (Audited)
Nonspendable$96,557
Assigned$730,755
Unassigned$6,669,404
Total Fund Balance — General Fund$7,496,716

MD&A cross-check, as printed: unassigned General Fund balance was $6,669,404 (FY2024), vs. $6,878,498 (FY2023) and $6,760,416 (FY2022).

Negative fund balances, shown exactly as audited: two other governmental funds ended FY2024 negative — the Statesboro Fire Service Fund closed at a total fund balance of −$60,699 (unassigned −$148,858), and Other Governmental Funds carried an unassigned balance of −$206,830 (FY2024, Audited).
Table O — Outstanding obligations, June 30, 2024 (Audited) — ACFR "Outstanding Debt" table
Governmental ActivitiesBusiness-type ActivitiesTotal
Notes payable$426,490$298,467$724,957
Revenue bonds$8,175,000$7,433,000$15,608,000
Subscriptions payable$461,306$0$461,306
Landfill closure and postclosure care$0$1,398,641$1,398,641
Other post-employment benefits (OPEB)$4,940,444$1,948,680$6,889,124
Compensated absences$1,072,065$310,459$1,382,524
Total$15,075,305$11,389,247$26,464,552

How to read this total: the ACFR's "Outstanding Debt" table includes OPEB ($6,889,124), compensated absences ($1,382,524), subscriptions payable ($461,306), and landfill closure and postclosure care ($1,398,641) in addition to notes payable and revenue bonds — it is broader than bonded debt, and the $26,464,552 total is not headline bonded debt. Bonded/note debt alone (notes payable + revenue bonds + subscriptions payable) is $9,062,796 governmental / $17,794,263 total.

  • Direct debt (ACFR statistical section, Schedule S-20): City direct debt $9,062,796; no overlapping debt reported; total direct and overlapping debt $9,062,796 (FY2024, Audited).
  • General obligation debt: the City reports no general obligation debt applicable to the 10%-of-assessed-value limit (Schedule S-19, FY2024, Audited).
  • FY2024 change (MD&A): notes payable decreased $71,265 and bond debt decreased $1,287,000 — a combined long-term debt decrease of $1,358,265.
  • Net pension liability: $10,571,059 (governmental activities reconciliation, FY2024, Audited) — a government-wide liability that does not appear in the fund statements and is not part of Table O.
  • FY2027 budgeted debt service: All Funds $1,147,255 (Governmental $1,041,015 + Proprietary $106,240); General Fund $245,440 — FY2027 Adopted, Budget FY2027.

General Fund reserve policy & the book's reserve estimate

Budget policy as printed: the City shall maintain General Fund unassigned fund balance at 25% of General Fund expenditures — a policy target, not an actual balance.

City's estimate as printed in the FY2027 budget book: the book's FY2027 Budget Summary and Reserve Targets table shows an estimated beginning unreserved General Fund balance of $6,700,974 and a projected ending unreserved balance of $5,600,959, stated as 20.4% of expenditures and transfers vs. the 25.0% target. That table's working-capital flows are the book's June 2026 estimates and do not match the FY2027 Adopted revenue/expenditure totals — it is printed here only as the city's estimate, labeled as such.

Sources: Annual Comprehensive Financial Report, Fiscal Year Ended June 30, 2024 — City of Statesboro, Georgia (FY2024, Audited) — Balance Sheet, Governmental Funds; MD&A "Outstanding Debt" and Note 3-H; statistical Schedules S-19/S-20. Read the ACFR (PDF) · FY2027 debt-service and reserve lines: Annual Budget, Fiscal Year Ending June 30, 2027 (FY2027 Adopted). Read the budget book (PDF)

Population — as printed in the source documents

Population figures, each with its date and document
Population as of July 2025 ("via census – latest population #")35,366
Estimated population, 202434,452

Neither figure is a 2020 Census count; each is labeled with its own date and document. The 34,452 figure also appears in the ACFR's transmittal letter, described there as the "2024 estimated population of 34,452, based upon July 1, 2023 population."

  • Average growth rate: 1.27% per year (as printed, FY2027 budget book, Introduction)
  • Median age: 22.6 (as printed, FY2027 budget book, Introduction)
  • Median household income: $44,737 (2024, as printed, FY2027 budget book)
  • Per capita income: $20,069 (as printed, FY2027 budget book)
  • Unemployment: 4.5% (city, February 2026, as printed, FY2027 budget book)

Sources: 35,366 (July 2025) — Annual Budget, Fiscal Year Ending June 30, 2027 — City of Statesboro, Georgia, Introduction. Read the budget book (PDF) · 34,452 (2024 estimate) — Annual Comprehensive Financial Report, Fiscal Year Ended June 30, 2024 (FY2024, Audited), Statistical Table S-22 (Demographic and Economic Statistics) and transmittal letter. Read the ACFR (PDF)

Sources & disclosures

Only two documents were used — the city's FY2027 budget book and its FY2024 ACFR, both downloaded in full. Every breakdown on this page was re-added against the printed totals: 25 of 25 sum checks exact. The only defects found in the sources are narrative/percentage conflicts and mixed labeling, disclosed below; none affects a table total.

Source documents

  • Budget figures (hero stats and the FY2027 sections): Annual Budget, Fiscal Year Ending June 30, 2027 — City of Statesboro, Georgia (FY2027; summary tables label FY2027 columns "Adopted"). statesboroga.gov — FY 2027 Budget (PDF)
  • Audited figures (hero stats and the FY2024 sections): Annual Comprehensive Financial Report, Fiscal Year Ended June 30, 2024 — City of Statesboro, Georgia (FY2024, Audited). statesboroga.gov — FY2024 ACFR (PDF)
  • Fund balance & obligations: ACFR FY2024 (Audited), as above; FY2027 debt-service lines additionally cite Budget FY2027 (Adopted).
  • Population: Budget FY2027 for 35,366 (July 2025); ACFR FY2024 Table S-22 for 34,452 (2024) — each cited next to its figure.
  • Millage: Budget FY2027, Property Taxes page — cited with the "proposed" disclosure (C5).

No Bulloch County government or Bulloch County Schools documents were used. The budget book carries a GFOA Distinguished Budget Presentation Award page "For the Fiscal Year Beginning July 01, 2025" — that award applies to the FY2026 book, not the FY2027 book, and is not presented here as an FY2027 award.

Disclosures — read with the figures

  1. C1 — Adopted status. The FY2027 budget book's title page does not say "Adopted." Its summary tables label the FY2027 columns "Adopted" (compared against the "FY 2026 Adopted" budget), while its detail pages and narrative call FY2027 the "Budget" / "proposed" budget. Figures here are the book's summary-table "Adopted" columns, labeled FY2027 Adopted exactly as the book labels them.
  2. C2 — Two different fiscal years. Budget figures are FY2027 Adopted (budget book). Audited figures are FY2024 (ACFR for the year ended June 30, 2024). They are different years and are never combined into a single total.
  3. C3 — Narrative-vs-table conflict (budget increase). The budget narrative states the General Fund budget "of $32,671,785 is an increase of $5,499,560 from the FY 2026 Adopted Budget of $27,172,225 — a 20.2% increase." The book's own summary tables instead show FY2026 Budgeted total use of $27,542,825, making the increase $5,128,960 (+18.62%). The $27,172,225 figure does not appear in the book's summary tables. This dashboard uses the table figures ($27,542,825 / +18.62%) and discloses the conflict; the narrative's increase figures are not presented as fact.
  4. C4 — Narrative percentage errors (not republished). The General Fund narrative says Fines and Forfeitures of $447,500 are "8.2%" of the General Fund — the correct share of $32,671,785 is ≈1.4%. The same narrative's "Miscellaneous Revenues $945,945" is a combined grouping (Interest $900,000 + Contributions $20,000 + Miscellaneous $25,945 = $945,945) that does not match the tables' separate "Miscellaneous Revenue" line of $25,945. The General Fund Budget Summary table also prints "0.00%" change for Intergovernmental Revenue ($31,000 → $30,000) and Investment Income ($1,000,000 → $900,000). No narrative percentage from the budget book is republished unless recomputed; every percentage on this dashboard is computed from the verified table figures.
  5. C5 — Millage labeling. FY2027 millage is printed in the book as 10.75 mills in text (10.754 in the history chart) and is called "proposed" on the book's Property Taxes page, vs. the current 8.625 mills. It is printed with that framing and is not stated as finally levied.
  6. C6 — Negative interest line (ACFR). The FY2024 governmental fund statement prints General Fund debt-service interest of −$2,145 (a negative expenditure, as printed). It is reproduced exactly in Table N; the governmental total interest of $371,981 is unaffected in presentation and the table still sums exactly.
  7. C7 — Debt definition. "Outstanding debt" per the ACFR table includes OPEB ($6,889,124), compensated absences ($1,382,524), subscriptions payable ($461,306), and landfill closure/postclosure care ($1,398,641) in addition to notes payable and revenue bonds. Direct/bonded-style debt is $9,062,796 governmental / $17,794,263 total.
  8. C8 — Negative fund balances (ACFR). The Statesboro Fire Service Fund ended FY2024 at −$60,699 total fund balance (unassigned −$148,858), and Other Governmental Funds carried an unassigned balance of −$206,830. Negatives are shown, never floored at zero.
  9. C9 — Negative governmental unrestricted net position. Governmental unrestricted net position is negative (−$1,642,282, FY2024 audited) even though total unrestricted net position is +$16,926,511. Both are shown exactly as in Table I.
  10. C10 — Sources exceed uses in the FY2027 budget, as the book presents it. All Funds sources $108,775,872 vs. uses $103,800,810 (net +$4,975,062); Governmental Funds run the other way (sources $60,091,055 vs. uses $65,111,130, net −$5,020,075). The nets are presented as printed; the budget is not described as "balanced" or "in deficit" — the book uses neither word for these totals.
  11. C11 — Reserve-target table basis. The FY2027 book's reserve table (projected ending unreserved General Fund balance $5,600,959, 20.4% vs. the 25% target) rests on June 2026 working-capital estimates whose revenue/expenditure lines do not match the FY2027 Adopted totals. It is labeled an estimate as printed wherever shown.
  12. C12 — Population dating. 35,366 is dated July 2025 in the budget book; 34,452 is the ACFR's 2024 estimate. Neither is a 2020 Census count; each is labeled with its date and document.